Preliminary Information

Standard

Starting a New Healthy Lifestyle

If you want to get healthy (lose weight and feel amazing in the process) then this is the place for you. I am tired of being tired. I am grossed out by the image reflected in the mirror. I seriously let myself go after I got married. I won’t bore you with my whining (if you want more background, see my About Me page). I am so excited to be on this incredible journey to change my life, forever, and I hope I bring you inspiration and motivation for your personal journey.

journey

IMPORTANT THINGS TO REMEMBER

Using Making the Cut, I figured out my BMR; My BMR is 1,378 calories daily. You need to know your BMR because it is the most important piece of your foundation to be successful. (For more information about Making the Cut, please see my Resources page).

You should be drinking half of your body weight in ounces (i.e. I weigh 132 pounds; 132/2 = 66; 66 ounces of water daily) at a minimum. Water is essential to keeping your body running efficiently.

Exercise is important and you should be including cardio (running, exercises that get your heart pumping) and strength training (toning your muscles) into your life six days a week. I am trying to get rid of belly fat and tone my whole body, therefore I focus on cardio (cardio is six days a week) and I alternate upper body and lower body toning exercises (alternating, but strength training six days a week). *Always have a day of rest; my day of rest is Sunday.

For optimum weight loss, the secret to success is simple. You need to burn more calories than you put in your mouth; it’s basic math. If you eat your BMR in calories, that is what your body already requires to sustain/maintain, therefore any calories you burn through exercise equals weight/fat loss. For example, I eat 1378 to 1400 calories per day. I burn approximately 786 calories through exercise per day, which is what accounts for my weight/fat loss (my net calories). I always eat right at my BMR (1378 calories); I try to not go over and I always stay as close to my BMR as possible. *If you eat too few calories, your body will go into starvation mode and literally grab ahold of that yucky fat and never let go; you will never lose weight this way. As you can your BMR is extremely important!

I hope you have learned something and will apply this information to start your weight loss.

Leave a Reply

