Chicken Pasta Primavera (Healthy)

Standard

I made the most delicious (and super healthy) dinner last night. I made a healthy version of Chicken Pasta Primavera. My husband and I loved the meal; it was scrumptious and so filling.

The Healthy Version of Chicken Pasta Primavera

Ingredients:

  • 12 ounces of chicken, cubed small or shredded in small pieces (I used leftover roasted chicken from the night before).
  • 2 tsp of extra virgin olive oil
  • 3/4 cup of chicken broth (I use Swansons 33% less sodium).
  • 2 tsp of cornstarch or flour
  • 6 ounces of pasta (I use Ronzoni Smart Taste Spaghetti; this pasta is fiber and protein enriched).
  • 3 cups of vegetables (I used Archer Farms Mediterranean-Style Blend Steamers; it has zucchini, whole green beans, yellow carrots, and red peppers).
  • 1 T of basil
  • 2 tsp of red pepper flakes (or more or less depending on your preference)
  • 2 tsp of coriander
  • 1/4 tsp of lemon juice
  • 2 tsp of cracked pepper
  • A few sprinkles of parsley

What To Do:

  1. Boil pasta based on the box instructions. Drain and set aside once cooked.
  2. Meanwhile, in a small bowl, mix the: chicken broth, basil, red pepper flakes, coriander, lemon juice, parsley, and pepper.
  3. Heat the oil in the pan over med-high heat. Once heated, add the chicken and cook thoroughly (or in my case, I just reheated).
  4. Heat/steam the veggies based on the bag instructions (if you use fresh veggies, add the veggies after the chicken is cooked or cook separately the way you like them cooked).
  5. Now that your chicken is cooked and your veggies are cooked, mix them together in the same pan on low heat.
  6. Add the cornstarch or flour to the seasoning broth mixture. Mix well.
  7. Add the seasoning broth mixture to your chicken and veggies pan. Let simmer until seasoning broth starts to thicken.
  8. After the broth begins to thicken, add your pasta. Mix well.
  9. Enjoy!

Nutrition Facts: Serves 2 people.
404 Calories, 4.2 grams of Fat, 89 mg of Cholesterol, 270 mg of Sodium, 268 mg of Potassium, 52 Carbs, 7 grams of Fiber, 5 grams of sugar, 41 grams of Protein.

I wish I would have remembered to take a picture. Sorry. The next time I make this dish I will be sure to add a picture to this post.

Leave a Reply

