A Week’s Worth of Tips

Standard

Helpful Weight Loss Tips and Tricks

Staying motivated to keep going, even when your mind and body are telling you not to or even trying to sabotage you, is very hard; especially when starting out. This week was difficult to get back into the swing of things but I noticed it’s the little things that make this journey easier.

Tip #1: When you are out and about, stay out and about. Meaning: get everything done you need to get done when you leave the house. For example, I dropped my daughter off at school and immediately went to workout. I didn’t tempt myself by driving back home. When I drive back home, I tend to not want to leave the house again. After your workout, get any shopping done or errands done. That way, when you come home, you are settled and ready to start work or take care of chores, etc. I noticed I stayed committed to my exercise routine.

Tip #2: Eat five small meals a day. If you suffer from cravings (like me), take the total number of calories you need to eat for the day and divide it by five. For example, if your BMR is 1,500 calories per day and you will have five small meals per day: 1,500 / 5 = 300 calories per meal. Most people have an “average” day of 8:00A to 6:00P when most of their “eating” will be done; that is 10 hours. So you would space/schedule your eating every two hours. I do not each a meal first thing. I do my 30 to 45-minute cardio every morning at 9:00A. My first meal is at 10:00A, eating every two hours, and I finish no later than 6:00P. This worked wonders for my cravings and hunger pangs. Adjust the timetable to your schedule and your BMR needs.

Tip #3: Set alarms on your phone or calendar (or both) to remind you to eat smaller meals throughout the day. I always forget to eat throughout the day. When I don’t eat throughout the day I get severe hunger pangs and cravings, then I am so hungry in the evening that I overeat and just sabotaged myself. I use my phone alarm; very simple and easy. It isn’t fool proof but I found this hint kept eating at the forefront of my mind. I didn’t miss a meal all week.

Tip #4: Plan your meals for the week. Have your healthy food on-hand and ready to go for cooking and consumption. If you don’t plan your meals and snacks for the week, the temptation to eat other (unhealthy) foods will always be there. If you always have your go-to healthy snacks and a variety of healthy foods readily available, the temptation won’t be as great. When I was out and about (Tip #1), I made sure I got all the items I would possibly need for the week.

Tip #5: Drink water! And I mean drink lots and lots of water. Staying hydrated helps with hunger pangs and cravings, increases skin elasticity and appearance, reduces cramps and bloating, and keeps your body functioning appropriately. I am working my way up to one gallon (16 cups) of water per day.

 try hardest

Leave a Reply

